Home Page


Welcome to the Governors' section!



Nominated by Transferors or Superseded Managers:

Rev PC Lyle (Chairman)
Mrs R Blanc
Mrs MA McMurray


Elected by parents of registered pupils:

Mrs L Braniff


Nominated by the South Eastern Education and Library Board:

Mrs EA Lightbody (Vice Chairman)

Alderman RL Cree MBE MLA



Mr T Beckett


Co-opted by the Board of Governors:


Secretary to the Board of Governors:

Mr  Massey

The present governing body was formed in 2016 and members will serve a total of four years. Parent governors and a teacher governor have been elected to serve for this term of office that will end in February 2020.

Governors’ committees comprise, Non Teaching Appointments, Curriculum, Finance, (including Salaries), Grievance and Disciplinary Procedures, Premises, Salaries Appeal and Special Education. Through these committees governors make decisions about:- the financial management of the school, pupil discipline, the curriculum, staff appointments, community links and grievance and disciplinary matters.

All governors meet to consider major policies and decisions
 about school organisation as well as the appointment of all teaching staff. 

The governors, as a body, work with the principal, senior management team and class teachers to ensure that all pupils receive a broad and balanced curriculum as stated in the aims and objectives of the school. A summary of these may be found in the school prospectus. 

The governors would like to be kept in touch with any opinions, concerns, expectations or suggestions you may have about school life.

All communications to the governing body should be addressed to Mr D Massey, Principal and Secretary to the Board of Governors.